St. Patrick's Parish 1837-2012 Book
The book contains a multitude of photographs, black and white, sepia and color, some dating back to the mid 1800's. A full chapter on the life of the four Cauley brothers contains photographs of their family which have never been published. The book also outlines the enormous amount of their personal wealth which was invested in the parish, particularly in the building of the 34 room, 11 bathroom and 9 fireplace rectory that was built in 1915 at a cost of $57,000. Parishioners contributed $12,000 of that amount and the Cauley family financed the balance. The building is adorned inside with rich molding, crystal chandeliers, hand painted tiles, built in sideboards in the dining room and a hundred year old steam room which still functions.

Another chapter chronicles the construction of the present church, the third such church to serve the parish. The first was built in 1837, the second in the early 1850s served as the co-cathedral of the Diocese of Erie from 1852-1993 when the present St. Peter's Cathedral was constructed. The present church, built in 1903 is one of the most unique and outstanding architectural gems in the city of Erie. Life size Stations of the Cross were purchased by Father Peter Cauley in Munich, Germany in 1890 and the church eventually designed around them. The broad open interior of the building is capped with a magnificent dome which provides unparalleled accoustics. Plans call for the entire restoration of the interior in 2012 to commemorate the 175th anniversary of the parish.

The parish office can be accessed at (814) 454-8085 or
Newly Released Book
Are you interested in learning more about the history of Saint Patrick's? The new book, written by Msgr. Henry Kriegel has it all.
Saint Patrick Parish book front cover, Written by Msgr. Henry Kriegel.The first Christmas in the new church, 1906.The Cauley Brothers, Fathers Peter, Charles, Stephen, and Joseph. Served 61 years total at St. Patrick's Parish.Archbishop John Mark Gannon addresses the congregation at the funeral Mass for Msgr. Charles Crowley in 1965.The corner of 5th and French Streets in the 1890s.The annual picnic for women religious was hosted by the Cauley brothers as their east side summer house, 1953.The Cauley Brothers and Father Discoll in front of the rectory.Bishop Michael MurphyThe bell which hung for almost 100 years in the tower.The Melaven Family lot at Trinity Cemetery, Erie. The Melaven family were early generous benefactors of St. Pat's Parish. They donated five of the Stations of the Cross when the church was built.The Casey family lot at Trinity Cemetery, Erie.The most recent photograph of the Rectory here at Saint Patrick's.
Take a sneak peak inside this book featuring photographs that have dated back to as early as the 1800's. Click on the thumbnails to view larger images.
A hard cover bound book which traces the history of St. Patrick's Parish from 1837 to the present is available at the parish office. Cost of the book is $20 or $25 if it is to be packaged and shipped.